10 Year Advocacy Challenge

Last week, the 10 year photo challenge, trended on Social Media.

So let’s have some fun with this, BUT! Turn it up a notch! Let’s share photos of our favorite moments of advocacy over the past 10 years!

ALSO: even if you are new to advocacy, we still want to see YOUR favorite photos of advocacy!

So comment below your favorite moments as a patient leader/advocate with a description! If you have advocacy photos from 10 years ago and present, you can make a photo collage showcasing your 10 years of advocacy!

Ready… Set… Comments Below‼️image

2 Likes

10 years ago (yes I actually dyed my hair black LOL) I advocated on behalf of individuals with developmental disabilities and mental health conditions!

Today, now with blonde hair LOL, I advocate on behalf of the Fibromyalgia, Chronic Pain and Military Veteran Communities.

Here is my 10 year advocacy photo challenge!

5 Likes

As a high school student I held a dance marathon to raise money for the Muscular Dystrophy Association at a local mall in North Miami Beach, Florida. This was ~ 20 years before I was diagnosed with a neuromuscular disease. In 2015 that’s me at a Myotonic Dystrophy Foundation conference meeting in Washington DC with a group of community members I coached to be support group facilitators.

3 Likes

Love these photos @leslie.krongold it seems from a young age you were destined to be an advocate :purple_heart:

3 Likes

Thats me in 1999 advocating for homeless youth (ages 16-24) in NYC. I am the person with the striped light blue shirt.

Me in the Black at the 2019 NJ Caterpillar Run with Team Milly Velez Advocating for Fibromyalgia. The Fibromyalgia Care Society hosts annual awareness walks during the Month of May (Fibromyalgia Awareness Month).

3 Likes

@mildred.velez love it! It seems that those who follow the path of advocacy were meant to make it a life mission of helping others! :purple_heart:

1 Like